Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate

This is a pretty hearty meal. When I saw the weekly photo challenge was “delicate”, this meal came to mind. This photo was taken almost 6 years ago when I worked for “the State” in downtown Richmond, Virginia.  My boss and I decided to explore one of the restaurants featured during the First Fridays Artwalk, which at that time was fairly new. Bistro 27 is a European Bistro located at 27 West Broad Street and responsible for the delicious meal featured above. It’s been years since I’ve eaten there so this post isn’t a review, but please check them out and let me know what you think. 🙂

Normally when you think of chicken, mashed potatoes, linguine and asparagus the first word that comes to mind is not “delicate”. However, when I look at how expertly everything is displayed on the plate in the picture above, that’s what comes to mind. This photo also reminds me of the “delicate” place I was in when that meal occurred. One of my biggest cheerleaders, my grandmother, had passed that year. I reevaluated my employment decisions which were fueled by financial obligations and an urge to feel grounded which led me to feel stifled in my corner office. I was thankful for having a great boss that mentored and encouraged me to pursue dreams that didn’t fit into my job description at that time. Although they didn’t hinder my job or volunteer work at that time, my emotions were raw. Never one to impulsively make life decisions, I spilled my hopes and dreams over chicken and potatoes to a woman from a totally different background, culture and ethnicity whom I’d only known for less than two years. She could’ve easily just focused on what I could do for her but instead stepped out of her introverted comfort zone to cheer me on in my pursuits.

Years later, now in school pursuing a degree in film, I am truly grateful to her for listening to my lofty dreams, my setbacks and doubts – for her “delicate” handling.


Leave a comment